Life beyond “The Wall” by Jenny Baboun

 

by Jenny Baboun on May 29, 2011

IMG_7507

It is commonly referred to as the “Apartheid Wall” or the “Racial Segregation Wall” or even some call it the “Separation Barrier”. Others go further in calling it the “Security fence” or “anti-terrorist fence”. But the question is: what is its purpose?

The so-called wall is a 15 minutes walk from my house in Bethlehem. It’s true that it is made of cement but I’m made of steel. I walk. I talk. I laugh. I cry. I eat. I go out. I enjoy life. I’m human. We, Palestinians, live our lives as normal as we can with the existence of “a wall”. It only became part of our lives.

As a Christian living in the heart of Bethlehem, I seize every moment of my life. I spend my days working, cooking, blogging, and reading as any normal person around the globe. I, sometimes, go further to imagining myself on the other side of the wall and have come to the conclusion that it would be boring and would suffocate me. The wall on our side is covered in graffiti, while it is blank on the other side.

Then what is the wall’s purpose? Israel built it thinking it could affect the lives of Palestinians and would stop them from resisting. Well, they got it wrong. The fact that they have stolen our freedom of movement is true, but we resist. Our resistance is by living. Our resistance comes from our love to the Lord, to our country, and to our lives. We do have the power of popular resistance. We  protest on weekly basis to demand for our rights.

I have been to Berlin, Germany where there’s a museum with parts of the Berlin wall. I believe that someday in the future, Palestine’s museum will consist of parts of the current wall not through politics but by people on both sides.

The vague question remains. Are the Israeli people enjoying living in a country surrounded by a wall? If not, they should do something about it!

 

Source & More at the Weblog of Jenny Baboun 

Comments are closed.